1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Wonders of RAW

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Jazzer, May 29, 2013.

1. Jazzer

Jazzer TalkEmount Veteran

Nov 6, 2012
    New York
    Larry
    I am a relative novice and have often read the various arguments about shooting jpeg vs. RAW. To be honest, I was not convinced of the benefit of RAW. Most of the time the JPEGs look just fine to me and it is so much simpler. Well, I was looking back tonight at some of my images and found one that I kind of liked, but I only had a second to take it (those little critters are fast :)) and the image was way overexposed and blown out. I had shot it using RAW and JPEG so I decided to see what I might be able to do. Below is the original JPEG file followed by the RAW, which I quickly processed. It's still not great, but I was amazed at the amount of detail I was able to get back.

Note that I did this with iPhoto, which is all I have at the moment, so perhaps I could get better results with a good editor (and if I knew what I was doing :) ). I tried to edit the JPEG file also, but most of the information was just gone. I still think shooting JPEG is great for snap shots, etc, but I think I will be shooting RAW or JPG + RAW in the future in any situation where it matters.

DSC00562(1).

DSC00562.

2. Bimjo

Bimjo Super Moderator

Oct 28, 2011
    Washington State
    Jim
    Welcome to the club. RAW + JPG is a good way to go. If the jpgs are good you don't need to bother with the RAW files. I never take my own good advice though- I always just shoot RAW. If I need a quicky snap I just use my phone. ;)

3. WoodWorks

WoodWorks Super Moderator

Dec 12, 2012
    Ashland, OR, USA
    David
    Yeah, I almost never shoot jpeg anymore. I just HATE those "if only" regrets.

4. Bill

Bill TalkEmount Veteran

Oct 22, 2012
    Brisbane, Australia
    Bill