1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

What is the P* mode in the NEX6

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Cameras' started by izzikiorage, Feb 23, 2014.

1. izzikiorage

izzikiorage TalkEmount Veteran

Jul 30, 2013
    Hi everyone

I've been using the amazing NEX6 for over 8 months now and am fimilliar with most of the stuff that it offers. However had two major questions

1. When you rotate the dial (under the mode dial) when in P mode you switch to a P* mode. What is this and how can I use this better
    2. Is there any way to enable face detection in P mode, otherwise it underexposes faces or does not focus on them
    3. I heard somewhere that there is a way to get a more defocused background using the cam software. Here the cam takes 2 shots and then calculates what is the background and blurs it out giving a better isolated subject

Please help me out with these or let me know if you've been wondering the same

2. José De Bardi

José De Bardi Assistant in Virtue

Aug 31, 2013
    Dorset, UK
    José
    P* is program shift - lets you adjust the aperture/shutter away from the starting auto values the camera worked out. Its like a temporary manual mode, quite handy if the camera has got it close and you just want to tweak it a bit, rather than going to full manual mode (which would restore whatever the last manual settings you used were, which likely are miles away from what you need).

• Like Like x 2
  3. izzikiorage

Jul 30, 2013
    Wow, I did not know that. I get how turning the dial (the one under the mode dial) lets me reduce the aperture, but how do I change the shutter speed using this?

4. José De Bardi

José De Bardi Assistant in Virtue

Aug 31, 2013
    Dorset, UK
    José
    Not sure as I don't own a 6, I'm sure someone will be able to tell you tho.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

5. addieleman

addieleman Passionate amateur

Nov 13, 2012
    Netherlands
    Ad Dieleman