1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

What files do you save your work as after editing processing is done

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by jcasillas08, Apr 20, 2015.

1. jcasillas08

jcasillas08 TalkEmount Regular

May 29, 2013
    Well might sound confusing but I'm still new to photography and do notice when you save your photography (in jpeg) after photoshop or lightroom you lose a lot of quality in the image when you post it on different sites. I have read different articles and watched a few youtube videos where people save it as a png file to not downsize the image but it's also a huge file. Facebook is one of the major notorious ones that downsize files but I do see some pros who still are able to post amazing sharp high quality photography without any distortion. Same question goes for making your photography into prints. Thank you!

2. WestOkid

WestOkid TalkEmount All-Pro

Jan 25, 2014
    New Jersey, USA
    Gary
    I don't believe the quality differences you see on sites vs your original is based on the file format being jpeg. There are many more factors like most sites apply their own compression, sharpening and other tweaks. I have loaded the same image to 500px and flickr and saw different results. Now I sharpen less for 500px than I do for Flickr. I also sharpen differently if I am printing vs showing on screen. IMO - the aforementioned factors are more important the file format.

Last edited: Apr 20, 2015
  3. alaios

alaios TalkEmount All-Pro

Jan 11, 2013
    Düsseldorf
    Alex
    Many questions....
    I have not much time so shortly
    1. When I process my files (I only shoot raw) and if I need to call external programs I save as tiff