1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

What do you do for work?

Discussion in 'Other Genres' started by Yohan, Feb 20, 2013.

1. Yohan

Yohan TalkEmount Veteran

May 21, 2012
    Vancouver, BC
    Yohan
    Thought this might be a fun idea to share photos and learn about what we do.

I'm currently working on two online courses and working full time. Life is busy. I'm a Certified Pedorthist Technician in Canada. I'm continuing my apprenticeship to become a Certified Pedorthist Clinician. As a pedorthist, I would assess our patients' biomechanics especially from the hip down. Our job is to provide solutions to improve their conditions or injuries. We would see anything from athletic injuries to diabetic ulcers. Diabetic ulcers need to be offloaded to heal. This is key in avoiding amputations.

Custom made orthotics are a part of our job. Here in the photo, I made a plaster cast of my friend's feet. Tomorrow, I will press a shell material against the casts to continue fabricating the orthotics.

8490530989_056b7bcc25_b.
    Plaster by FA43LTD, on Flickr

Attached Files:

2. dixeyk

dixeyk TalkEmount All-Pro

Jun 18, 2012
    Bellingham . WA
    Kevin
    I work as an instructional technologist at a small university. The current project I'm working on as part of the transition team to a new Learning Management System (LMS). It's software students and faculty can use for course work, discussions, group work or whatever else they wish. It's not mandatory to use it but we do have quite a number of faculty that do use it as it gives them a another tool to engage students. I do training and tech support. I also teach freshman classes in the Fall and work on independent projects.

Not really sure how to photograph that...I'll see what I can come up with

I also do THESE...
    The Stimpson Reserve on Vimeo