What are the macro fliters?

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by alaios, Jul 29, 2013.

1. alaios

alaios TalkEmount All-Pro

Jan 11, 2013
    Düsseldorf
    Alex
  2. rtex42

rtex42 TalkEmount Regular

Jun 14, 2013
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Rick
    They are add-on lenses that screw on the front of a lens to allow it to focus closer.
    I have no direct experience with that specific set but at that price I would not expect too much quality.

3. Poki

Poki TalkEmount Hall of Famer

Aug 30, 2011
    Austria
    Exactly - you can focus closer, but usually you'll loose even more quality than when using extension tubes. It's always best to use a dedicated macro lens if you truly want to do macro work.

4. markoneswift

markoneswift TalkEmount Veteran

Oct 17, 2012
    I've used several sets of 'macro filters' or dioptres as they are known and they all have various issues optically. Even 'expensive' sets of these add on lenses are not up to true macro lens quality. The best of these types of adapters are the 'Raynox
    branded adapters - I've used these and they're pretty good. Still not a substitute for a real macro lens or even a standrard lens on macro tubes or a bellows / reverse setup.

5. jereswinnen

jereswinnen TalkEmount Regular

Jul 11, 2013
    Belgium
    Jeremy Swinnen
  6. lowbone

lowbone TalkEmount Regular

Oct 21, 2012
    Generally speaking these are one element glass filters that fit over the camera lens and allow you to focus closer. Depending on what you expect from these filters the results can be fun or disappointing. Yes, you will get closeup images when using these alone or in combination but focusing is much more critical and because of the cheap optics distortion can be expected especially in the corners. If you want to get closer without spending money on a specialized lens I would recommend the two element achromatic closeup filters like the Canon 500D. Marumi also makes these but I'm not sure of their model numbers.

7. eno789