1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Wedding advice (eek!)

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by quezra, Jan 20, 2015.

1. quezra

quezra TalkEmount Top Veteran

Aug 22, 2012
    Ok, so against my better judgment, I accepted to do a wedding for an acquaintance of mine, for a nominal fee. They know I'm not a professional, and they know they're not paying professional rates. They also have seen a portfolio of mine, so I am pretty sure the expectations are roughly within my capability. That said, once you make the commitment to deliver, preparation gets scary!

The setup is going to be in beautiful, classical Oxford, with a small ceremony (they call it an "elopement", and say there won't be more than 4 people) as well as some outdoors pictures around some classic Oxford buildings like the Radcliffe Camera, Sheldonian theater, and so on. So I am planning to shoot this with only the FE 16-35 and 55/1.8. Indoors completely with the 55/1.8 + Nissin i40 (I've shot paid gigs with just that before, and am pretty comfortable with that), and one cannot do without the ultrawide for things like the Radcliffe. Would that be risky to be limited to only those two lenses though? I would also have my old 5N as backup for video with 35/1.8 and SEL 18-200LE for tele in a pinch, but probably would not be relying on that very much. Would I also need to bring the FE 28-70?

2. José De Bardi

José De Bardi Assistant in Virtue

Aug 31, 2013
    Dorset, UK
    José
    I did similar for a friend last year.

Just scanning through my pics, I used the 1650 on the A6000 the most - mainly for ease of AF and versatility of some zoom.
    My Nex-5 had my OM50 on it all day, which was very handy for not having to change lenses - just grab the other body (I got a double sling so both were very accessible).