1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Vivitar 70-300mm 4.2

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by Zanner, Oct 11, 2013.

1. Zanner

Zanner TalkEmount Veteran

Aug 19, 2013
    Wisconsin, USA
    Suzanne
    Just bought a Vivitar Macro 70-300 mm lens f/4.2-5.8 MC off of ebay for $50. I thought the MC meant it was the Minolta mount (adapter that I have), but I've come to learn that's not the case. It more than likely means "multi coated". Correct me if I'm wrong.

So, I have a message into the seller to see if he can tell me what mount it is, but no response so far. I know it's a long shot, but can anyone tell what mount this is by looking at the picture?

Also, I would like to buy a 2x teleconverter (or extender, not sure what you actually call them) to double the zoom. Does anyone have this lens that can tell me exactly what to buy or link me to the exact one? I am new to photography and don't want to muck this up. Although I would need to know what mount first, I know. Thanks in advance for any help.

vivitar.JPG

2. Deadbear77

Deadbear77 TalkEmount Hall of Famer

Sep 14, 2012
    Northeast Ohio
    Kevin
    What are the initials on the back of the lens cap?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. Zanner

Aug 19, 2013
    Wisconsin, USA
    Suzanne
    I won't know until I have it in my hands, unfortunately. This is the best picture the guy has of it. I just bought it about an hour ago off Ebay ;) I probably won't know until it comes in the mail, which is fine. But I was just wondering if you pros could tell just by looking at the mount itself.

4. davect01

davect01 Super Moderator

Aug 20, 2011
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    Dave
    Minolta is MD. Seems a bit muddy on what mount works. Perhaps it was made with multiple mounts or people discussing it don't really know.

MC on Minolta's usually means a later Minolta adaptation: