Vivitar 28mm f2.8 FD?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by NkedFatWhiteGuy, May 2, 2014.

1. NkedFatWhiteGuy

NkedFatWhiteGuy TalkEmount Veteran

Oct 28, 2013
    Portland, Oregon
    Has anyone had this lens? I am trying to decide if I should look into getting mine fixed. The lens us stuck wise open and I am not sure what to do. I am new with FD mount and Canon in general. I got this lens as part of the "package" when I bought done old Canon gear from a friend. The glass an body of the lens are in excellent shape, so if it is a decent enough lens to drop $30 or so into it, I will take it into my favorite local repair shop.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

2. xXx1

xXx1 TalkEmount All-Pro

Jan 15, 2013
    There were something like 30 models of Vivitar 28mm/2.8 made. What is it's serial number?

Aperture blades stuck wide open -problem is usually caused by helicoid lube running to wrong place. I have cleaned a couple with q-tips and lighter fluid. Pretty easy if the back optical assembly screws out in a single piece.

3. NkedFatWhiteGuy

Oct 28, 2013
    Portland, Oregon
    So I needed to look a little closer. It is actually f/2 not f/2.8 (shows you how I need this week to be over!) This is the lens:

6esa5ebu.

Sorry, on my phone and jumping between apps to get serial number will not result in the right number ;-)

4. xXx1

xXx1 TalkEmount All-Pro

Jan 15, 2013
    That is Kiron made lens and well liked (Kiron lenses tend to suffer from bad helicoid grease btw.) but nothing exceptional and I don't have it myself. I think it is worth repairing. Anyway legacy lens prices are increasing so I think you can get your investment back. Here is a list of different Vivitar 28mm lenses:

http://photografica.robinparmar.com/vivitar.html

5. NkedFatWhiteGuy

Oct 28, 2013
    Portland, Oregon
    Thanks xXx1!