1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Trying to shoot stars

Discussion in 'Scenic, Architecture, and Travel' started by Yves Gajardo, May 13, 2014.

1. Yves Gajardo

Yves Gajardo TalkEmount Veteran

Aug 7, 2011
    Pittsburg, CA
    Yves
    So, I've been dabbling in shooting the sky at night with stars. Trying to learn and adjust settings and I think I'm getting there. I think I just need to try it at a later time at night. This was shot at around 10pm. 53 second exposure, ISO 3200, f16, 24mm focal length but on NEX 6. I think I should have shot it at 2.8, as I've read, to let in more light. Noise reduction in post was done as well. Like I said I'm still learning this. Any comments/suggestions I'd appreciate it.

14174925185_c94110b11d_b. Starry Night in Antioch.jpg by yvesgajardo, on Flickr

• Like Like x 2
  2. José De Bardi

José De Bardi Assistant in Virtue

Aug 31, 2013
    Dorset, UK
    José
    As wide open as possible. So f number as small as possible. That way you will be able to use ISO 100 or 200 and so avoid noise. Also, keep the exposures less than 30 seconds to avoid the stars streaking as the earth rotates.

In short, all the settings need to be the other end of the scale! You will suddenly see there are A LOT more stars up there than your humble eye can see. Also use a wider angle, like 16mm for best results.

Also, location is key. Get as far away from towns/cities as you can. Light pollution will otherwise render you just a grey haze up there!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like Like x 5
  3. jade_monkey07

jade_monkey07 TalkEmount Regular

Dec 24, 2013
    José has it all correct. The moon can be detrimental also

I dont always drive where others cant. but when I do, its in my Jeep. Stay muddy my friends

• Like Like x 1
  4. José De Bardi

Aug 31, 2013
    Dorset, UK
    José
    Example using the sort of settings I mention (16mm, f2.8, ISO200, 30 seconds I think this was).