1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Travel lenses?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by Roger Dash, Aug 13, 2015.

1. Roger Dash

Roger Dash New to TalkEmount

Aug 7, 2015
    HI GUYS!

I'm heading on vacation at the end of the month and I'm bringing my NEX 6 with a few lenses.

Currently I'm bringing:

Minolta MD 28mm 2.4
    Minolta MC 50 1.4

I've heard great things about the Minolta 100mm md 2.4 and purchased it already, but would it make sense for me to use this while traveling? If so, what are the best uses of it. Or what would you use?

I'm new to the adaptive lenses but I love them.

2. WNG

WNG TalkEmount All-Pro

Aug 12, 2014
    Arrid Zone-A, USA
    Will
    I guess it all depends on your vacation venue.
    ie. landscapes, indoor photos, city, rural, marine, etc.

On a Spring trip to California, I had a Nikon Series E 100mm f/2.8 handy and found it was more than long enough for most captures. 100 will be 150 equivalent FOV on your NEX 6. Only once I needed to go longer to get a very specific subject composed, with 300mm.

If I were limited to take 3 adapted primes, my preference would be 24mm f/2.5-2.8, 35mm f/2-2.8, and the 100mm (sub a 90mm f/2.8 macro if you have one.).
    The APS-C FOV makes the 28 and 50 a bit tight for my comfort. Even though they are two of my favorite focal lengths and have a large variety of each in my stash.

3. SpaceManSpiff

SpaceManSpiff TalkEmount Top Veteran

Dec 13, 2013
    Tucson, AZ
    Eric
    I think it depends on how you "see" things that you want to photograph (Some people see wide others see long).

In your case, in addition to the 28 , and 50 f/1.4, I would bring the 100 unless I had a space limitation. A little reach can certainly be handy for wildlife or compression of some landscapes.