1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Travel lens advice wanted

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by pworden, Jan 18, 2014.

1. pworden

pworden TalkEmount Veteran

Aug 26, 2013
    State College, PA
    Patti
    I'm planning to go back to the UK for vacation this May. I'm still learning this camera, coming from a P&S, taking photos mostly on the weekends.
    I'll want to take some nice wide-angle shots and would like to try fisheye. I have the 16-50 zoom lens but not fond of it. Definitely soft much of the time, might be me. I can't justify a really 12mm Touit or a 10-18; my skill level has a long way to go before I'll spend that kind of money on a lens. So I'm considering either the Rokinon fisheye or the Sony 16mm combo with the wide angle and the fisheye attachment. I'm thinking that when I'm in a big landscape setting the wide-angle will work well and in a church, a fisheye could be fun. My swap-out lenses for different situations could be the SEL35F18 and the SEL55210. Maybe this combo would be easy to snap on-and-off - easier than swapping lenses from the 16-50 if I stick with that, to the fisheye. Not sure though if the results from the 16 would be a bit better than the 16-50 since it's a prime. I heard the 20 is better, but not as wide as I'd like. Any advice appreciated!

2. davect01

davect01 Super Moderator

Aug 20, 2011
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    Dave
    For those wide angles, the 16mm with adapter is a wise choice.

The 19mm Sigma also has a fairly wide field of view, and a lot sharper.

3. pworden

Aug 26, 2013
    State College, PA
    Patti
    Thanks - I'll check it out. I don't plan to take any of my legacy lenses because I'll have to be selective and won't want to switch from needing an adaptor and not.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. WoodWorks

WoodWorks Super Moderator

Dec 12, 2012
    Ashland, OR, USA
    David