Tough decision

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by NickCyprus, Nov 26, 2017.

1. NickCyprus

NickCyprus Super Moderator

Oct 11, 2012
    Cyprus
    Nick
    As some of you good folks here know, I do quite a few weddings now (2nd shooter going for my third year) and I'm trying to prepare (gear wise) for the next wedding season which starts in January 2018 here.
    I'm also a hobbyist landscape photographer (but which does not bring any income)

I currently own/use the MK1 A7 with the 55 1.8 and 70-200 4 (sold all my MF lenses already) and want something wider. I have saved a budget of 1500$ (or 1200euro) at the moment.

My dilemma is the following:

1) GM 24-70 2.8:
    I can get this lens for about $2000 new. Do I save up and just buy this one lens?
    Pros:
    -perfect FL for my situation (versatility) and good aperture range (f/2.8 is plenty)
    -can use this lens for work (weddings) AND hobby (landscapes) so twin usage lens

Cons:
    -expensive! I'd have to save up more to just get this one lens and not get anything else for a year
    -heavy to the point that I'm worried that the weak mk1 a7 plastic mount won't hold up with it. Its about the same weight as the 70-200 4, which gave me some issues before with my A7 (lens connection lost). I could "upgrade" to the fotodiox tough brass signature mount but that one also has its problems from the research I've done

2) Zeiss 35 1.4:
    I can get this lens for about $1500 new.
    Pros:
    -it would provide a wider FL than my current widest lens for group shots (but maybe not wide enough)
    -not extremely heavy (tolerable)

Cons:
    -the main photographer also primarily shoots with a 35mm so our images would not be too differentiated
    -rather expensive and won't be able to get anything else for a year
    -I'm afraid that 35mm would not be too much different in FL that the 55mm...
    -not wide enough
    -not really ideal/perfect for landscapes

3) New Samyang AF 35 1.4