1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Today was a good day, but need some legacy flash advice!!

Discussion in 'Lighting Forum' started by José De Bardi, Dec 22, 2013.

1. José De Bardi

José De Bardi Assistant in Virtue

Aug 31, 2013
    Dorset, UK
    José
    So my Mother just mentioned she has a load of photography stuff in the attic, god knows why she has not said this some years ago knowing it is my hobby!
    Maybe only now does she think I'm worthy!

Anyway, I got an Olympus OM 50mm f1.8 (for which I have posted here for advice... https://www.talkemount.com/showpost.php?p=50487)

But also this Unomat P300TCT flash rig...
    qe2a2a2y.
    ege5ytu4.

I am an absolute novice when it comes to flashes... I searched online for the instruction manual, but being 30 years old - no such luck! So I'm hoping someone one here can tell me what all the buttons do!
    I realise the top dial is to set the aperture/distance to subject... But beyond that have no idea!!
    I'm guessing the coloured segments mean you should set the switch below accordingly, but what does the switch do? And in M what happens!?
    It is a twin, but I can't get the smaller flash to fire...
    I have a hotshoe adapter on my nex-5 and the remote cable works great to trigger it, so if I can work the flash settings out I'm golden!

The camera doesn't go into 'flash' mode like when the native flash is popped up. Not a biggy but I guess I will for point and shoot have to adjust the exposure to -1.5 or so, and for best results go full manual...? Anyone using a hotshoe adapter have any suggestions here?

Thanks in advance!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. addieleman

addieleman Passionate amateur

Nov 13, 2012
    Netherlands
    Ad Dieleman
    This flash is probably dangerous for your camera. I hope your camera hasn't been damaged yet.