Thinking about getting a FE 28-70. Please advise me...

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by izTheViz, Sep 16, 2014.

1. izTheViz

izTheViz TalkEmount Top Veteran

May 10, 2013
    Paris
    Yannis Marigo
    Guys

I've been shooting with my A7 for 9 months now using quite exclusively FD primes (20,24,35,50,100,135) and one MD zoom (35-70 macro) but feel sometimes fed up switching lenses for non "artistic" shots and miss some features (OSS, AF,...)
    Even if I primarily shoot landscape and architecture (flickr.com/photos/iztheviz) I am seriously thinking about getting a 28-70 as a an everyday lens (should have bought it along with the body at the very beginning...was so cheap in Thailand...anyway).
    I really don't want to spend more than 1000€ for the 24-70 Zeiss. Too much money and as far as I understood it is not 5x better than the kit. I say 5x cause I found a mint second-hand 28-70 for 220€.

Interested in any feedback considering the price (220 € is cheap), I know many of you tried/still have this one.

2. van

van TalkEmount Rookie

Aug 28, 2014
    Well, it's a completely personal decision, but I bought the lens and ended up returning it. It was reasonably sharp stopped down and the OIS worked well, but the zoom range was just too dang short for a walkaround lens. Would have much preferred a 28-135 or 24-85 like on the Canons and Nikons

• Like Like x 1
  3. addieleman

addieleman Passionate amateur

Nov 13, 2012
    Netherlands
    Ad Dieleman