1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

The basics?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by 82DMC12, Oct 16, 2015.

1. 82DMC12

82DMC12 New to TalkEmount

Oct 16, 2015
    Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to higher-end cameras, first having an A5000 for about a year before upgrading to an A6000 last month.

Lenses I currently own are the 16-50pz from my A5000, Sony 35F18, Sony 55210, and Sigma 19F28.

I'm curious about adapted lenses (legacy lenses?). I see there are various adapters you can get to from E-mount to A-mount, or Canon, or Nikon, etc.

I can easily go on B&H's website and see the E-mount lenses for sale, including Sony brand, Rokinon, Sigma, and a couple other Japanese brands.

Are there any other brands that work natively with E-mount, even if the AF doesn't work? Or do you have to have an adapter for basically any brand that isn't available in the E-mount section on B&H?

Also, when using an adapter, does that affect the 35mm equivalent ? For example, I know if I have the 19mm Sigma I take 1.5x that and get the 35mm equivalent. But if I get, say, a Nikon lens that is 18-55 in FF, does the adapter also change the total equivalency since the sensor is now further away from the lens?

Hope my questions are clear.

Thanks for the advice!
    Andy

2. WoodWorks

WoodWorks Super Moderator

Dec 12, 2012
    Ashland, OR, USA
    David
    Welcome 82DMC12! To answer your questions:

1) There may be one or two exceptions I can't think of right now, but basically any lens that isn't listed as an E-mount lens at B&H will need an adapter.

2) The adapter doesn't affect the "crop" value of a lens in any way. Any lens that you use with an adapter will still have that 1.5x total equivalency. For example, on your A6000 a 50mm lens will have the field of view of a 75mm lens, whether it's a Sony E-mount 50mm or a 50mm from any number of other manufacturers.

3. 82DMC12

Oct 16, 2015