Telephoto for Nex-3N

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by jimphoto, Mar 31, 2015.

1. jimphoto

jimphoto New to TalkEmount

Mar 31, 2015
    Hi,

I need to buy an all around lense for the least amount of money.

I was thinking about Tamron 18-200mm F/3.5-6.3 Di III VC for the Nex but then I thought, why not buy the Tamron AF 18-200mm F/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD for 1/4 of the price and then some sort of adapter? Is this possible? Would it compromise some quality or functions? What adapter do I need?

Sorry for so many questions but I'm a newbie.

Thanks in advance!

2. jai

jai TalkEmount Top Veteran

Feb 4, 2013
    If you want that lens, make sure you get the Sony Alpha version and then you want to see if you can find a Sony LEA2 adapter on ebay.

You can get Canon adapters but everyone complains about the autofocus. I don't think you even can get autofocus working with an adapted Nikon.

3. jai

Feb 4, 2013
    That said I personally think you should get the Sony 55-210mm and use the kit lens or some Sigma E-mount primes.

Changing lenses is good for you.

4. jimphoto

Mar 31, 2015
    Thank you very much for your replies.

The Sony LA-EA2 adapter is too much expensive. Even on eBay. I was thinking there was some low priced adapters that would do the job. If not, than there goes my idea...

Don't get me wrong, changing lenses in this case is not good for me. Or it's not possible. I need one all around lense for my next travel and I won't have the chance or be able to change lenses if and when I want to.

5. mnhoj

mnhoj TalkEmount Regular

Aug 19, 2013
    No easy way around it I think.

An adapted 18-200 Tamron might be more trouble than switching lenses.
    The good adapters that allow for aperture changes are fairly expensive and
    manually focusing without an EVF in the bright sun on the 3n will be tough.

Maybe a rental? The Sony 18-105 or 18-200 looks like it might fit the bill.
    Or a second body. One with 16-50 and the other with the 55-210.