1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

tablet for mobile editing?

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by soopadoopa, Nov 29, 2015.

1. soopadoopa

soopadoopa TalkEmount Regular

Jun 3, 2015
    been doing a lot of out-and-about long days or even overnights with my camera recently. i find myself twitchy and anxious about wanting to see if my pics are worth a damn and so i'm considering a tablet as a solution to get a better look at em on the go.

things i know i'd like -

-NFC for those middle of nowhere transfers from the camera
    -SD card slot for easy bulk transfers
    -enough memory to actually store pics, at least temporarily. maybe 100gb or so
    -powerful enough to do a little exposure checking on LR mobile
    -i don't wanna spend a lot. maybe $2-300. less would be better

if anyone has any suggestions that suit the above criteria, and/or including stuff i dunno if i'd like yet (since i'm a noob), that'd be great.

2. davect01

davect01 Super Moderator

Aug 20, 2011
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    Dave
    Don't ever do photo editing via tablet, but am somewhat familiar with tablets.

The big thing that I can say is that Apple products do not allow for SD card, you have to use the available memory onboard.

My personal tablet at the moment is the 8" Samsung Note. I just love the attached pen, use it for note taking and a bit of doodling.

For photo editing, you will want an HD Screen. You will also need to decide what size. There are the smaller, very portable 7" tablets, the moderate 8-9" tablets and then the monster, might as well be a laptop, 10-12" sized tablets. The 8" is my sweet spot. Big enough for comfortable viewing, yet still does not require too much room and fits in one hand.

Here are a couple of nice resources:

Best Android tablets with the highest-resolution screens for watching videos - The Droid Guy

These are the best damn tablets in the world, right here

Last edited: Nov 29, 2015