Superzoom for FE?

crazy150

TalkEmount Rookie
Newbie here, hoping you guys could help me out. I Just ordered the A7iii and trying to research lenses. I'm currently shooting with MFT, mostly olympus bodies and trying to work out what lenses I want to replace to use on the A7iii. The primes are pretty easy, but the zoom are a bit trickier. For me, zoom is for run and gun type stuff so zoom range is first priority, followed by IQ, and then speed. On my EM1mkii, one of my most used lenses is actually the 12-100mm (24-200eq) f4 pro lens. While not fast, the quality is great for a zoom and I find the range very useful when I can only take one lens.

In trying to find a replacement for this on FE mount, and I've only come up with the 24-240mm sony which I'm seeing not so good reviews for. I do hear rumblings of a tamron 17-180 or something in the works. Anything else you guys recommend I look into?

crazy150

TalkEmount Rookie
Thanks. It does look pretty decent from those examples. Don’t know why people hating on it so much if those are representative. Looks like it might work for me. How’s the autofocus?

bdbits

TalkEmount Hall of Famer
Real Name
Bob
I wish I knew, thought about buying it more than once but I don't own it myself. Voigtlander took almost all of my camera money for a while. :boohoo:

Kmac76

TalkEmount Veteran
Real Name
Kevin
The 24-240 is my go to lens- as represented on a high percentage of my posted pix. For the combo of price and reach, I can’t say enough positive things about the lens. I use it on an a6000 and have no legit complaints about it.

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

Tipton

TalkEmount Top Veteran
Real Name
Rae Leggett