1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

[Q] Choosing NEX models

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Cameras' started by d3xophen, Apr 24, 2014.

1. d3xophen

d3xophen TalkEmount Regular

Apr 24, 2014
    I am very new to DSLR camera.

I want a camera which is compact(i mean as small as possible) and the image quality is as good as DSLR camera. And I found that E mount sony Camera is compact and interchangeable lens.

But I am very confusing when i start searching which one is the best among E mount cameras.
    Which one is better between a series (eg: a6000) vs NEX ( eg : nex 5t )?

I am confusing again in NEX series which one is latest among, NEX 5t, 5tL, 5ty, 6, 7. I dont know which one is the lastet.
    Can someone explain me?

Thanks,

2. Fundadores

Fundadores TalkEmount Regular

Oct 14, 2013
    A5000 and A6000 are the latest NEX models (Sony have chosen to not use the NEX name any more). NEX6 and A6000 are similar. If you have the money I would recommend the A6000. High resolution, fast auto focus and an electronic viewfinder.

3. davect01

davect01 Super Moderator

Aug 20, 2011
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    Dave
    If you want absolute smallness, the 3N is the most compact of the line.

[​IMG]

4. izzikiorage

izzikiorage TalkEmount Veteran

Jul 30, 2013
    The following are arranged by increasing price

NEX 3 - this is for a person upgrading from a bridge/prosumer camera, this has been replaced by the alpha 3000
    NEX 5- This is a slightly higher end variant with better video features and a couple of other improvements, the sensor is the same as NEX3. This has been replaced by the alpha 5000
    NEX6 - This is the semipro variant with an EVF, inbuilt flash, mode dial and ISO hotshoe. Build quality is better than the NEX5/3 but the image sensor is the same 16MP unit used in the 3 and 5