Potential Convert Needs Lens Selection Assistance

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by mentalcase, Nov 11, 2014.

1. mentalcase

mentalcase TalkEmount Rookie

Nov 11, 2014
    So I've been shooting Canon for nearly 10 years now and am sitting on the cusp of a complete migration. I ordered an a6000 which arrives on Wednesday and my plan is to put it through its paces and determine if it can completely replace my 60D. After researching the a6000 way too much, I'm fairly confident I'll be smitten with the Sony. But that leaves me with the hard selection of replacing my lenses.

Current setup
    -Canon 60d
    -Sigma 18-35 f1.8
    -Sigma 10-20 f4-5.6
    -Canon 70-200 f4
    -Canon 430exII flash

My most used lens is the Sigma 18-35 and to be honest it very, very, very rarely leaves my camera. Thus I am planing on throwing the majority on my budget into something comparable. I was not blown away with the basic walk around zooms that are currently offered, so I've accepted the fact that I'm going to have to be happy with a fast prime. Currently I'm looking at the SEL24F18Z or the Zeiss Touit 32/1.8. I'm leaning towards the 24mm as I find anything above 30mm to be a little tight for my tastes. Any opinions or are there other lenses I should look at?

I'm a big fan of the ultra wide angle point of view, but there doesn't appear to be very many options, rather only one and it's fairly expensive. I might have to hold off on the SEL1018 as I do not go wide nearly enough to justify spending nearly $800.

Same situation with my telephoto selection. The Canon 70-200 is far more affordable then the Sony glass, so in this case I'm going to default to the SEL55210 and it will have to until I come into more money.