1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Play Memories Home. Raw and Jpeg identical?

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by alaios, Aug 31, 2013.

1. alaios

alaios TalkEmount All-Pro

Jan 11, 2013
    Düsseldorf
    Alex
    Hi,
    as I am still very new to this game, I am using the software that came with my nex. The play memories home.

I have noticed that there the raw images look exactly the same with the jpeg shots (I am shooting jpeg and raw). I guess that the play memories home applies the same post - processing as the body of nex. If this is right (or partially right, jpeg and raw are very close but not identical) I have a very good reason stop shooting jpeg and raw and switch to raw only.

'What do you think?

Regards
    Alex

2. alfa 147

alfa 147 New to TalkEmount

Aug 30, 2013
    Raw is the file that you can process later, using a software, like lightroom or photoshop, for example. Jpeg is the final picture, which cannot be edited later. If you are not using a photoeditor, shooting only jpeg will be fine. I am using both jpeg and raw modes, because i edit my photos later, after shooting them.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 2

3. gio

gio TalkEmount Veteran

Sep 12, 2012
    Manchester, uk
    of course jpeg can be edited later

4. alfa 147

Aug 30, 2013
    Not in a professional way. I mean editing them in paint, or modifying contrast and sharpness doesn't mean "editing".

5. WoodWorks

WoodWorks Super Moderator

Dec 12, 2012
    Ashland, OR, USA
    David
    You can do a lot of editing to a jpeg file. But what you can do is just very limited in comparison to what you can achieve with a raw file. Much more information is "baked in," i.e. white balance, and other information, pixel bit depth, for example, is discarded. But to say that you can't edit jpegs in a meaningful way is IMO overstating things wildly.

6. alaios

Jan 11, 2013
    Düsseldorf
    Alex