Photo Editing Software Recommendation

Discussion in 'Post-Production' started by AdaBoy, May 14, 2015.

1. AdaBoy

AdaBoy New to TalkEmount

May 14, 2015
    I'm fairly inexperienced at photography and just recently purchased a Sony A-6000. I have zero experience using editing software so I'm hoping some of the good folks here can help me out.

What software do you recommend? Are some packages easier to learn and more intuitive to use? Are they all priced similarly? Are different levels/versions of the software available that have different options or is everything included at one price? I'm aware of Light Room and PhotoShop.......are there other valid options?

I've heard that some software is available online for a monthly which is better, having your software on your own laptop/computer or using an online service? One advantage of an on-line service is they always have the latest version; however, it seems a hassle to upload/download any and all images you want to edit.

Appreciate your thoughts.
  2. Bill

Bill TalkEmount Veteran

Oct 22, 2012
    Brisbane, Australia
    Welcome to the fold. The A-6000 is a great camera.

Will you be using the software to make minor adjustment to JPEGs, or do you plan to shoot in RAW and do your own processing?
  3. pbizarro

pbizarro TalkEmount Veteran

Nov 24, 2014
    Just get Lightroom, plus Jeff Schewe's "The Digital Negative " book. You will be all set.
  4. addieleman

addieleman Passionate amateur

Nov 13, 2012
    Ad Dieleman
    I agree on getting Lightroom, don't know about the book. Lightroom CC (subscription) or Lightroom 6 (stand-alone)? There's anything betweeen fierce rejection to luke-warm support for the Adobe subscription scheme. Personally I prefer the stand-alone version as that's what I'm used to. You being a beginner I guess you won't need Photoshop for some time to come, Lightroom is a very powerful tool in its own right.
  5. AdaBoy

AdaBoy New to TalkEmount

May 14, 2015