Showcase Olympus 16mm f/3.5 on Sony A7R

Discussion in 'Adapted Lens Sample Image Showcase' started by John D., May 22, 2014.

1. John D.

John D. TalkEmount Regular

Oct 7, 2013
    As a few of you know - I'm a commercial Real Estate photographer and an Olympus - Zuiko "addict".. ;)

I purchased a vintage Olympus Zuiko 16mm f/3.5 for short money recently on "fleabay". Frankly - I almost sent it back, as the fungus was not disclosed - and the optics were a mess.. But - I figured, I'd give it a try - and purchased some lens "wrenches" from Amazon and a bunch of jewelers screwdrivers to see if I could salvage this lens on my A7R.

Eight hours later?? The lens was back together (NOT for the feint of heart!) - and here are some test shots in my sunroom (sorry for the mess ;) ). About this lens....

It offers a fisheye at 16mm (180 degree view..!!! ) - and the distortion is "something else" if you are looking for an aspherical lens - this is NOT the one!! BUT - you can correct it to be a superior aspherical lens using DxO Optics Pro.. And the colors and contrast for shooting wide interiors? Absolutely amazing... Want to see..??

Here we go....

The ORIGINAL - out of the camera:

16mm_1.jpg

After DxO Optics Pro - with a preset I made:
    16mm_2.jpg

A crop to bring the view back to "reality" and post processing in Lightroom:
    16mm_3.jpg

The Olympus 16mm fisheye?

A stunning lens in every regard..

- John

• Like Like x 8
  2. davect01

davect01 Super Moderator Subscribing Member

Aug 20, 2011
    Fountain Hills, AZ
    Dave
    I see nothing to complain about.

A fisheye is probably the last lens I would think of for this kind of work, but if you seem to be able to correct it well enough

• Like Like x 1
  3. SpaceManSpiff

SpaceManSpiff TalkEmount Top Veteran

Dec 13, 2013
    Tucson, AZ
    Eric
    Nice work! Looks like you pulled that lens back from the brink. :D

• Like Like x 1
  4. John D.

Oct 7, 2013
    My thanks, Eric.!.!..