1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Nex lens recommendations

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by shortnick81, Jul 21, 2013.

1. shortnick81

shortnick81 New to TalkEmount

Jul 21, 2013
    Hello everyone!
    I'm a sort of a beginner to the camera world. I just purchased the nex 6 last week and have been playing around with it and trying to learn all the controls. I have a question for everyone. My wife and I will be visiting Paris and nice in a month. I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations for lenses. I'm not crazy about the power zoom lens the camera came with. And since this will probably my only visit there I really want to capture great shots. Thanks!

2. Poki

Poki TalkEmount Hall of Famer

Aug 30, 2011
    Austria
    Nothing beats a fast normal prime to start with. Sony has the 24mm f/1.8 and the 35mm f/1.8 to go with, both fast enough to capture shots even in pretty low light. If you don't need autofocus, there are plenty of legacy lenses too, which are quite a bit cheaper.

3. justa

justa TalkEmount Regular

Jul 4, 2013
    I really quite like the 16-50 - I've got the Sigma 30mm 2.8 and really like that, would be great for Paris but use the 16-50 for wider angles and fitting the Eiffel Tower in :)

4. NickCyprus

NickCyprus Super Moderator

Oct 11, 2012
    Cyprus
    Nick
    Even though a legacy MF addict myself, I'd suggest a Sony AF lens for your case (beginner and important/once-in-a-lifetime trip)...

Lecacy MF lenses are awesome but you need some time practising to get the best out of them and not have many bad photos.

Having said that, I think you'll be fine with the 16-50 PZ (there is a thread in the "native lens sample image archive sub-forum to get an idea what this lens can do) and if you feel you need a longer FL lens I'd suggest the SEL55-210mm

Welcome ;)

5. shortnick81

shortnick81 New to TalkEmount

Jul 21, 2013