NEX-7m vs NEX-7

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Cameras' started by Poki, Jan 17, 2013.

1. Poki

Poki TalkEmount Hall of Famer

Aug 30, 2011
    Austria
    So, the NEX-7 is now a year and a half old, and its successor should be released in some months. But the original NEX-7 is still a great camera which now costs "only" 900€ and I'm sure some of you consider to buy it now.

What do you expect the next NEX-7 to feature and do you still consider buying a "old" NEX-7? Because I do, but I think I'll wait to see what Sony comes up with.

2. olli

olli TalkEmount Veteran

Aug 16, 2011
    Washington DC
    olli
    Well, I've been shooting with my trusty NEX for a couple of years now and I've just reached the point where I'm looking for a replacement. I've been considering both the NEX-6 and the NEX-7, but leaning towards the 6. If the 7 were to fall enough in price when the 'new' 7 comes out it might be back on the radar but Sony does a lot of 'price controlling' here in the US so it probably won't fall that much.

What might tempt me to a new 7 is if Sony don't do too much with it: an evolution of the sensor, and evolution of the viewfinder, the new hotshoe from the 6, and Sony addressing the problem of magenta casts with UWA lenses.

3. Poki

Aug 30, 2011
    Austria
    If it's only an evolution and they will price it 1200€ body only like the current NEX-7 in the. beginning I'm going to buy the current one which should cost only 800 by then.

4. nianys

nianys TalkEmount All-Pro

Aug 23, 2012
    France
    The only truly needed improvement for the NEX system is AF. And I'm not talking placebo effect upgrade as in the 6, but real fast AF. Dang, Fuji has just cracked it with their newly announced releases. If Fuji can have fast AF, everybody should ;) !

5. Poki

Aug 30, 2011
    Austria