• Welcome to TalkEmount.com, the best Sony E-mount camera and photography community on the web.
    Click here to join for free and enjoy unlimited photo uploads in our forums.

NEX-6 self timer & bracketed shots

kernowbhoy

New to TalkEmount
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
7
Location
Cornwall, UK
Real Name
Andy
Hi,
New to the forum and owner of a new NEX-6Y outfit.
But I have a question about not being able to use the self-timer when taking bracketed shots.
I use this facility on my Fuji X10 to ensure no camera wobble/vibrations from using the shutter button.
Is there an ''app'' to allow use of the timer or another way ?
Best regards,
Andy
 

Bimjo

Super Moderator
Joined
Oct 28, 2011
Messages
4,595
Location
Washington State
Real Name
Jim
Hi Andy, welcome to the forum. :)

I believe that you'll need to get a wireless remote. They are all over ebay for a couple of dollars. Just do a search for "NEX remote".
 

WoodWorks

Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 12, 2012
Messages
5,842
Location
Ashland, OR, USA
Real Name
David
Hi Andy,

I'm new to the NEX-6 myself. But I just tested the iOS app with the camera, and though it won't allow you to take automatically bracketed shots per se, you can trigger the shutter remotely, and you can adjust the EV remotely before taking each shot. So yes, you can do bracketed shots remotely with an iPhone, and, I assume, with an Android device.

David
 

kernowbhoy

New to TalkEmount
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
7
Location
Cornwall, UK
Real Name
Andy
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #4
Thanks for the quick replies. Looks like the remote trigger then.
Andy
 

sum-of-all-parts

New to TalkEmount
Joined
Dec 30, 2012
Messages
6
Location
Los Angeles, California USA
Real Name
Brian Matsumoto
Hi Andy,

David's reply was correct and may indeed be the only solution. The trouble with the IR remote (Remote Commander) is that using that command, disables the automatic exposure bracketing as well. However, you might want to try and live on the wild side. I do HDR photography and with the NEX cameras have gotten away with doing the exposure bracket by handholding the camera. When mounting the camera on a tripod, I have carefully fired the camera by pressing the shutter release button. When the different exposures are combined in Photomatix, the program does a good job in aligning the pictures. Theoretically, this is not as precise as the method you're using, but it works surprisingly well. If the light levels are good, I will do HDR photography without tripod mounting the camera and it is a liberating experience to be able to do this without the encumbrance of a tripod.

Brian Matsumoto
Matsu Imaging | Fine Art and Photography Instruction
 

kernowbhoy

New to TalkEmount
Joined
Dec 28, 2012
Messages
7
Location
Cornwall, UK
Real Name
Andy
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #6
Hi Brian,
Indeed I had read the manual again and had come to the same conclusion that I cannot use the remote and bracket shots facility at the same time !
This is something I hope enough NEX-6 users can bring to Sonys' attention for the next NEX-6 version update !
I do alot of ''realistic'' HDR shooting and as you say a steady camera is an advantage !
Andy
 

Hong

New to TalkEmount
Joined
Apr 15, 2018
Messages
1
Hi Andy, we are on the ssameboats
HI David, what's the app name, thx

But sony a7r ii can do this
 
Top Bottom