1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

"Newbie" and new NEX 5R owner

Discussion in 'Welcomes and Introductions' started by The Sparrow, Apr 13, 2013.

1. The Sparrow

The Sparrow TalkEmount Regular

Apr 13, 2013
    Central Canada
    Hello all.
    I'm kind of new to the whole digital photography game. About 20 years ago I was quite into phtotgraphy as a hobbie. Back then I had a Nikon EM and a few lenses. I took a lot of black and white as well as colour but was never very "good". Since then, I've owned a couple point and shoot digital cams, most recently a Nikon coolpix, which I've used for family snapshots and the like.
    I got the bug again after my friend upgraded to a Canon T4 recently. After a short search I landed on a Sony NEX 5R. I am completely overwhelmed by how much the scene has changed. The power and flexibility of this camera blows me away. Things that I could have only dreamed of 20 years ago are right at my fingertips.

I think the reason I left photography years ago was that I stagnated. I had no vision. I was just trying to copy what people did in books. I didn't have my own 'voice'. Everything I did was cliche.
    I think I have some ideas now though of what I want to do, so I'm excited to get back in the game. I hope to learn from others but at the same time find my own unique voice.

Oh, and as a side note, I love baroque music and play the clavichord. Check out my youtube channel: The Sparrow's Clavichord - YouTube

2. The Sparrow

Apr 13, 2013
    Central Canada
    I suppose I should post at least 1 "beginner" photo, no?

Attached Files:

3. Bimjo

Bimjo Super Moderator

Oct 28, 2011
    Washington State
    Jim
    Beginner photo? You're fired as a beginner. ;)

Welcome to the forum and welcome back to photography. :)

4. The Sparrow

Apr 13, 2013
    Central Canada
    Gawrsh! Thanks. :)

5. WoodWorks

WoodWorks Super Moderator

Dec 12, 2012
    Ashland, OR, USA
    David