Newbie Acosta3211

Richard Alan Acosta

TalkEmount Regular
Hello everyone. My name is Richard. I am new to the Sony community. I had Nikon for many years and recently switched over. I shoot just as a hobbyist. I like to take lots of family pictures, portraits, landscapes, cars and sports. Current gear: Sony a7R III, 24-70 2.8 GM, 70-200 2.8 GM (also have the 2x teleconverter), Zeiss 35mm 1.4, 85mm 1.4 GM.
Hope I can learn as much as I can from you guys!

Thanks,

Richard

bdbits

TalkEmount All-Pro
Real Name
Bob
Hi there, and welcome to talkemount. I think you'll find a friendly bunch of people. A lot of us are hobbyists, myself included. :Welcome:

Looks like you have a nice starter kit there. :D

I am quite curious about one thing - did you switch before all the recent publicity around Nikon's coming mirrorless?

Richard Alan Acosta

TalkEmount Regular
Hi there, and welcome to talkemount. I think you'll find a friendly bunch of people. A lot of us are hobbyists, myself included. :Welcome:

Looks like you have a nice starter kit there. :D

I am quite curious about one thing - did you switch before all the recent publicity around Nikon's coming mirrorless?
Thank you.
I switched and placed my Sony order July 5, 2018 and posted all my Nikon gear on eBay. I thought long and hard about it. It was a few weeks before Nikon's official leaks came out but I knew Nikon and Canon were going to go the mirrorless route. I felt once they made the official announcement, the Nikon value would drop so I sold everything and made pretty good money on all my gear.. enough to buy all my new gear and have money left over. I am so happy I switched. I feel like I went from driving an old (yet reliable) Honda Accord to a Brand New Tesla with all the tech packed into the a7RIII!

WNG

TalkEmount Hall of Famer
Real Name
Will
Welcome aboard Rich! :Welcome:

I think you're going to really enjoy the new system. A lot of new capability and potential for one's photography.

Richard Alan Acosta