New to Sony NEX cameras and 3rd party lenses, need help

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by kwhunter, Jan 16, 2013.

1. kwhunter

kwhunter TalkEmount Rookie

Jan 16, 2013
    Ontario
    Dan
    Hi.
    I'm new to NEX cameras, and I tried to use an older Carl Zeiss Jena 135/2.8 lens with an adaptor.
    Everything worked fine but I could not take any pictures since the camera displayed a message saying that the lens was not recognized.
    I could not circumvent that condition and I'm here now asking for help.
    I am using the same lens with my Canon 7D and an adaptor and it works great in manual mode, what did I do wrong with the NEX?
    Thanks.

2. Grisu_HDH

Grisu_HDH TalkEmount Veteran

Dec 16, 2012
    Southern Germany
    Markus
    There's an option in the settings setup menu:
    "Release w/o Lens" (that must be activated with manual lenses)!
    And you're done!

3. kwhunter

Jan 16, 2013
    Ontario
    Dan
    Of course! :eek:
    Thank you very much, Markus!

4. Grisu_HDH

Dec 16, 2012
    Southern Germany
    Markus
    No problem! Let's see some results if you want to, I started with manual lenses just some days ago too and I know how hard it is getting used to them manual focus.

5. kwhunter

Jan 16, 2013
    Ontario
    Dan
    Looks like they don't work that great together...
    Just shot a couple pictures, the camera was showing in focus but they come out quite soft, and it is a strong chromatic abberation hallo around white objects.
    I remember it worked quite well with the 7D though; I will have to experiment some more.

6. NickCyprus

NickCyprus Super Moderator

Oct 11, 2012
    Cyprus
    Nick
    Have you tried the "focus peaking" ???(set to yellow and Mid)

7. Grisu_HDH

Dec 16, 2012
    Southern Germany
    Markus
    Good point! This really is one of the smartest settings an the NEX series...

By the way: Nick, you prefer yellow peaking!!? Interesting, most people (as I do until now) use red peaking...

8. Dioptrick