1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

New NEX-6 owner - Which glass should I buy next?

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by Cyberratchet, Jun 20, 2013.

1. Cyberratchet

Cyberratchet New to TalkEmount

Jun 20, 2013
    Austria
    Hi everyone,
    I’m a photography newbie and yesterday I’ve bought a NEX-6 with the 16-50 kit lense, two spare batteries, 32 GB SD Card, infrared money and extended warranty for about 60% of the original price. I’m currently experimenting with aperture, ISO, etc. and the cameras software features. I’m very happy with the NEX-6 so far and I’m glad that I didn’t bought the 5r (the EVF was quit handy today).
    My main interest with this camera are:

• Landscape photography
    • Street/City photography
    • Macro photography
    • Short videos

The kit lens alone should work for a short time, but I want to extend repertoire in the next months. First on my list is a telephoto lens, I really need more zoom for some shots. Let me get this straight, I was in a “HTL” until this monday and I will go to the technical university, so I don’t have too much money to spend :biggrin: .
    First on my list is a telephoto lens, I really need more zoom for some shots. The SEL55210 seems like a reasonable priced lens and all the sample shots I’ve seen so far looked quite good.
    A wider angle would be great too. Does someone one the Sony SEL-16F28 + Sony VCL-ECU1 combination? Are you happy with it, what do you like and what do you don’t like? It would be quite cheap to get a fisheye converter, if I would buy the 16F28.

I also own to old lenses, a Minolta Rokkor-PF 55mm f1.7 and Minolta MD 28mm 2.8. A cheap adapter is on the way, so I’m able to play around with manual lenses ^^.

TL;DR