New Member to Forum, New Camera - Nex 5-N, Pictures from Japan, please be nice!

Discussion in 'Scenic, Architecture, and Travel' started by Fraggles, Apr 13, 2012.

1. Fraggles

Fraggles New to TalkEmount

Apr 13, 2012
    Hi guys, i am a new member on the forum. I just got a Sony Nex 5-N. I live in Japan and these are my first pictures with my new camera. I am a newbie to photography so most of these are with the basic automatic settings. Really loving my new camera so far! (Previous camera was just a simply Lumix point and click camera) Any comments or tips would be appreciated :)

DSC00043.JPG

DSC00087.JPG

DSC00027.JPG

DSC00184.JPG

DSC00029.JPG

DSC00251.JPG

DSC00213.JPG
    This last picture was done in miniature mode.

All pics used the standard kit zoom lens. Not tried the pancake lens yet. When should i use that?

Thanks for looking :)

Fraggles

2. lapdog99

lapdog99 TalkEmount Veteran

Sep 3, 2011
    Colorado
    Ohio gazaimas (english guess spelling learned in Naiba, 1970, while skiiing). Loved 3,4, and 5. Nothing wrong with IA mode and you can also take shots in aperture or manual and compare settings, impact on DOF, etc. Composition often trumps other factors. Welcome.

3. tdekany

tdekany TalkEmount Rookie

Dec 20, 2011
    Portland OR
    Lovely pictures!

4. hodad66

hodad66 Sony Guru

Feb 8, 2012
    Indialantic, Fl
    John
    very nice shots! Welcome....

5. Dioptrick

Dioptrick TalkEmount All-Pro

Feb 4, 2012
    New Zealand
    Welcome Fraggles-san!

All I can say is that you have a natural grasp of composition and a good eye for detail.
    All your photos are very very good. My favourite is the train pic.

-

When to use the 16mm Pancake lens

Other than just being able to take photos of more people in a large group shot, the 16mm pancake is invaluable for taking interior architectural shots in small confined spaces.

But the 16mm pancake is also extremely useful when used for 'creative compositions.'