1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

New beginnings, from Nikon to NEX. Maybe!!!

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Cameras' started by Mpshah, Jul 6, 2013.

1. Mpshah

Mpshah New to TalkEmount

Jul 6, 2013
    Hi guys,

I've been reading a lot about the mirrorless cameras lately. Initially I started off with the D40x and then moved onto the D90. Currently my primary camera is the D7000 which I'm really happy with. But lately the sheer size and weight that come along with has got me thinking about these NEX devices. I'm not a pro photographer and do not generate an income from my shots but I'm truly a enthusiast who loves capturing moments of life.

So I'm stuck at deciding which NEX to get, the 6 or 7? I'd appreciate if you guys can help me make this decision.

Cheers.

2. Bimjo

Bimjo Super Moderator

Oct 28, 2011
    Washington State
    Jim
    First, welcome to the forum. :)

Which body you pick is really comes down to ergonomics. If you aren't printing large pics and aren't a pro pick the one that has the features you want the most.

One thing to consider is the 24 megapixel NEX 7 has more issues using UWA lenses than the 16 megapixel bodies do. Unfortunately I'm one of those lucky souls that has color shift/vignetting with a 5N, though that seems to be rare.

Really, which one has the controls you want and which one fits your hand better? That's the one you want to get. :)

3. Mpshah

Mpshah New to TalkEmount

Jul 6, 2013
    Thank you for the warm welcome.

I appreciate your advice and agree that in the end it all boils down to my needs and requirements.
    Like I mentioned before I'm not a pro so having all the bells n whistles is not going to do me any good (at least for now). And judging from the specs of the 7 it definitely looks like a pro camera. I'm gonna have a look at both of them this weekend and decide.

Thanks once again.

Cheers.

4. Phoenix

Phoenix TalkEmount Top Veteran

Aug 25, 2011
    Melbourne, Australia