1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

New and very happy NEX user

Discussion in 'Welcomes and Introductions' started by Rich, Nov 20, 2012.

1. Rich

Rich TalkEmount Veteran

Nov 20, 2012
    Salisbury UK
    Richard
    Hi all.

I'm an editorial and stock photographer, amongst other things, from the South of England, Wiltshire to be precise.

I bought my NEX 5N a couple of weeks ago to use as a pocket, walk about camera for shooting stock pictures when I couldn't be bothered with carrying a load of DSLR bodies and lenses, which is most of the time these days!

I have been using the Fuji X PRO 1 quite a lot, but unfortunately it has a couple of technical issues, not least of which is poor RAW conversion support from Adobe which is limiting its use in some areas for me at the moment. I bought the NEX after quite a bit of research as a sort of stop gap whilst the XP1 issues are being sorted out. After the first day shooting with the NEX I fell in love with it and now cant put it down!
    It fills the gap and some.
    Its a superb little camera. Nails focus and exposure every time. Over 1000 shots and no deletions for missed focus or poor exposure whatsoever. More than can be said for the Fuji at 3 times + the price.
    It literally goes everywhere with me.

Unfortunately I was not impressed with the 18-55 kit lens that came with it, maybe I had a bad copy, I don't know. I bought the 19mm and 30mm Sigmas and the system really took off for me, particularly with the 30mm which stays on the body most of the time.

I am so impressed with it that I am seriously considering expanding into the NEX6 and the Zeiss 24mm. I wont sell my 5N though!

Happy to be a part of this forum, there seems to be a lot of good information shared here.

All the best.

Rich.

2. teefin1

teefin1 TalkEmount Top Veteran

Sep 7, 2012
    Welcome aboard :)

3. freddytto

freddytto TalkEmount All-Pro

Dec 2, 2011
    Puebla, Mexico