need good advice on buying adapted lens

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by nex6newuser, May 2, 2013.

1. nex6newuser

nex6newuser TalkEmount Rookie

Apr 11, 2013
    I am new to NEX world, i have NEX6 with the kit lens only have one lens at the moment. But the prices of lenses and reading about the adapted lenses being cheaper way to go, i want to get some advice on which lens to adapt. I know a lot of you have their own personal preference so please don't bash on each other with your suggestions. I mostly photograph my two daughters so maybe i'll start with a portrait lens. Please help me decide which way to go, please also provide the adapter to use.

Thank you so much!

God speed!

Erwin

2. Bimjo

Bimjo Super Moderator

Oct 28, 2011
    Washington State
    Jim
    What type of shots of your daughters do you plan? Them playing? Candids? Formal portraits? There are many lenses that will serve you well, but we need a little bit more info before we start throwing logical options out there. ;)

3. Jaf-Photo

Jaf-Photo TalkEmount Veteran

Mar 25, 2013
    Hello

Adapted lenses are good not only for the wallet but for quality in terms och build and image.

I'm a Minolta man and can only offer advice on those.

To take portraits you could look at Minolta MD 50mm f/1.7 or MD 35-70mm f/40 or MD 35mm f/2.8. These lenses are cheap and easy to come by but produce excellent results.

For adapter you can search eBay for MD NEX adapter and you will find a host from different sellers and manufacturers. I prefer the Kiwi adapters as they a better in terms of build quality and precision.

4. nex6newuser

Apr 11, 2013
    hi thanks for your response. I mainly do candid/playing shots so most of the time they are moving so i would like to get a fast lens in that sense. I would also want to get a zoom or telefoto lens.

5. NickCyprus

NickCyprus Super Moderator

Oct 11, 2012
    Cyprus
    Nick
    Hi and welcome ;)