need advice on adapted lenses

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by nex6newuser, Apr 11, 2013.

1. nex6newuser

nex6newuser TalkEmount Rookie

Apr 11, 2013
    I am new to the NEX world or should i say mirrorless cameras and i recently bought a NEX6 kit, i really love it and i need to learn more about them. i want to expand my lenses but i don't know which to get- Sony lens are expensive and limited, so ai joined this forum to get some help. I do not know anything about other lenses and/or how they attach to the cam- if they need adapter and what adapter would it be. So my main focus or subject is my daughters, so i would really need a very fast lens, i wanna be able to have minimum focus distance of atleast a foot. Can you please recommend what you use and maybe where i can get them cheap?

Thank you much for your responses.

2. xXx1

xXx1 TalkEmount All-Pro

Jan 15, 2013
    I think that almost any fast (maximum aperture of f:1.7 or less) 50mm legacy lens will fit for portrait work of your daughters. To be able focus less than 30 cm means generally a macro/close focus lenses and fast macro lenses are expensive. With 50 mm objective (short tele with nex) 30 cm closest focusing distance magnification is about .25. That means 10 cm *7 cm object will fill whole sensor. 50 cm gives magnification of .125 and is more reasonable for people. You will probably take photos from 1m and over most of times.

You need adapter (look ebay) for legacy lenses. They don't have autofocus or automatic aperture. Best sources depends about where you live. Camera stores selling used stuff are pretty good place to start as they don't generally sell junk (and are occasionally very reasonable, I just ordered a Tamron SP 300mm/5.6 for 55 euros). Ebay is generally expensive but sometimes you can get a ok deal.

3. nex6newuser

Apr 11, 2013