• Welcome to TalkEmount.com, the best Sony E-mount camera and photography community on the web.
    Click here to join for free and enjoy unlimited photo uploads in our forums.

Near-Half Moon

Hawkman

TalkEmount All-Pro
Real Name
Steve
September 1st. After a storm that came through this afternoon cleared out, the sky was clear and the nearly-half moon shone brightly as the sun began to set. So, even as the sun was still setting I started shooting. First with the SEL 55-210, then the SEL 50 (which had a hard time focusing on the moon, oddly enough). And finally, I dragged out the "big gun," the Celestron NexStar 6SE (6-inch aperture).

And one of the shots turned out pretty well. Ran it through some quick enhancements in iPhoto to brighten and enhance the local contrast (still haven't decided on other post-processing software yet), and voila...

View attachment 49129 Half Moon - 9/1/14 by SRHawk64, on Flickr
Celestron NexStar 6SE - 1500mm f/10, ISO 800, 1/200.

This may be one of my best yet, IIDSSM.

Bimjo

Super Moderator
Real Name
Jim
Very nice! I gotta get a telescope. Or a Pentax Q/Nikon 1 body. Or something that makes bigger images of the moon. :p

TonyTurley

TalkEmount Hall of Famer
Very nice! I gotta get a telescope. Or a Pentax Q/Nikon 1 body. Or something that makes bigger images of the moon. :p
The Minolta MD 135 on my Q is a 756mm equivalent. I have actually taken hand-held photos of birds & squirrels that were decent, but even the tiniest shake can soften a photo at those lengths. As for the Moon, the photos from that combo are pretty good, but not tack sharp. I usually tweak the contrast and add some sharpening in PP. However, if it's a cheap telephoto combination you want, there you have it. Although I don't have one, the Q7 has a bigger sensor (1/1.7" vs 1/2.3"), and those who have it say the photos are better. I'll take my original Q and its magnesium alloy body. :)

Tony

Bimjo

Super Moderator
Real Name
Jim