My post processing

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Mus Aziz, Nov 5, 2017.

1. Mus Aziz

Mus Aziz TalkEmount All-Pro

Sep 3, 2015
    Mus
    I thought I'd share the way I capture and post process my images, since I was asked by Bob bdbits in my recent Pic A Day. I believe Gary WestOkid asked the same a while back. So here goes. Just note that I'm no expert. Really.

To me, composition and light are essential to get good images. I try to compose at the taking stage, unless it's unavoidable (sometimes I can't access a particular viewpoint, or something gets in the way which is beyond my control). When it's unavoidable, I crop in post or on smaller "distractions", I clone out.

On "light", I know it sucks when after considerable travelling time, the light doesn't want to play ball. If it's not too bad (decent but not brilliant), I try to salvage by way of selective exposure/contrast/clarity tools in both Lightroom and Photoshop. I bought the Greg Benz's luminosity mask plug-in Lumienza, but have yet to play with it seriously.

After opening my image capture in Lightroom, I do the following:

1. Apply lens correction in the Develope module. In my case mostly Sigma 20mm Art. I sometimes manually correct for distortion.

2. Crop if necessary, whether to exclude something which distracts, or sometimes a particular aspect ratio feels right for an image. Not sure how to explain it, but if it looks pleasing to the eye, I'll crop. I'll do the cloning out of small distracting things in Photoshop usually.

3. Adjustments for exposure, contrast, clarity, highlights, shadows, etc using the graduated filter and brush tools.

4. Still in Lightroom, right click (two finger tap on my Mac track pad) and "Edit in Photoshop". Note, edit with Lightroom adjustments.

5. Image with Lightroom adjustments opens up in Photoshop.

6. I'll clean up the image (normally small things like sensor dirt, distracting bits, etc) with the Spot healing brush tool or Rubber stamp tool, etc.