1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

My A7 story :D

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Cameras' started by RAWFA, Nov 23, 2013.

1. RAWFA

RAWFA TalkEmount Veteran

Dec 25, 2011
    So I JUST got my A7 and I didn't have much time to mess with it too much because it's night here in Rio de Janeiro and it's pouring outside.

But before I go into my first impressions I'll contextualize my needs quickly.
    I have to say that I was always a ONE camera kind of guys. I don't do gigs where I HAVE to have a backup, and photography is not where I earn my living...so I always felt it was kind of unnecessary to have a bunch of cameras.

That being said, I was extremely happy with my NEX-7...until I started shooting video again. It does shoot great video, but it has issues with overheating and poor audio even with external mics (for my needs). SO, I ended up getting a Canon 6D for video.

When Sony announced the A7/A7R I thought all my problems would be solved (not to mention that I'm always an early adopter of new technology). So I sold my NEX-7, all my Canon primes and I'm currently trying to sell my Canon 6D.

Move to today, UPS drops me this nice little package and I cannot wait to start testing my new toy. So, here are my first thoughts:

The good
    - I was amazed at how little it was (I really thought it was going to be substantially bigger than the NEX-7).
    - I've tested the audio input and audio control with an external mic and it's great.
    - Lots of manual controls and customizable buttons
    - Everything feels solid
    - The new menus are much better than the usual Sony menus
    - It feels fast

The bad
    - Phase AF has like 101 AF points and it's supposed to be amazing, but Sony only updated a couple of their lenses to support it (this one isn't really about the camera, but ok)
    - The magnify focus assist needs 2 clicks to magnify (it needed one click on the NEX7)