1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Minolta MD Macro 50mm f3.5 tight focus ring ?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by tokayto, Apr 20, 2015.

1. tokayto

tokayto TalkEmount Regular

May 25, 2014
    Hi!

I just got a Minolta MD Macro 50mm f3.5 and i have a problem to solve with it. The lens looks so new not a scratch at all. It's a blue ring version. I heard that there are orange and white ring versions also. The focus ring gets tight when i turn it. Its not that tight but its hard to turn with one hand. What can i do to make focus ring work better ? Do you think that little oil would work ? Or avoid from oil ?

2. ztryfe

ztryfe TalkEmount Veteran

Aug 19, 2014
    Mexico
    Vic
    I would stay away from oil!

I am no expert.... but I have dismantled a couple of lenses (I even put back together perfectly *one or two* of them) I would avoid oil, focusing mechanisms I've seen are actually very fine threads among 3 or more components, maybe there is some dust? I'll hold of for more knowledgeable folks.

Why dont you look for the lens on youtube? I had some luck fixing up a stuck 50mm f1.7, might help you understand more the problem.

• Like Like x 1
  3. VLReviews

VLReviews TalkEmount Regular

Mar 16, 2015
    Germany
    Benjamin
    Oiling a lens generally isn't a good idea. The oil may get inside and onto the aperture or the lens elements. To check what the problem is, let it sit in direct sunlight for half an hour so it warms up a little. If it's smooth and easy to turn when warm, your will have to disassemble the lens, clean the focusing helicoid and applay fresh acid and resin free grease. If the focus is still stiff when warm, there's a mechanical problem - maybe the outer focusing ring is warped.

• Informative Informative x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. ztryfe

ztryfe TalkEmount Veteran

Aug 19, 2014
    Mexico
    Vic
    Super Good Advice

BTW, great site you have there Ben!

• Agree Agree x 1