Minolta MC 35/1.8

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by dixeyk, Sep 24, 2017.

1. dixeyk

dixeyk TalkEmount All-Pro

Jun 18, 2012
    Bellingham . WA
    Kevin
    Does anyone here have any experience with this lens? I've been able to find a few things Googling but opinions seems to vary between "it's great" to "don't waste your time" so I was wondering if anyone here had anything a bit more concrete than that. I'm picking up a really nice MC 24/2.8 and have the opportunity to possibly grab an equally nice 35/1.8 as well but I have zero knowledge about it.

I know that there are a good deal of adapted lens suers here (some with LOTS of Minolta experience) so I thought I'd see what folks think.

2. Deadbear77

Deadbear77 TalkEmount Hall of Famer Subscribing Member

Sep 14, 2012
    Northeast Ohio
    Kevin
    I have one. It’s very soft at 1.8. Gets a little better at 2.8. Nothing to write home about. IMO.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Deadbear77

Sep 14, 2012
    Northeast Ohio
    Kevin
    Btw. I also was in search of a NFD 35 f2. I found a great copy. Big disappointment. The 24, 28 and 50 are great but the 35 is garbage in comparison.

4. Deadbear77

Sep 14, 2012
    Northeast Ohio
    Kevin
    Best 35mm I used in adapted lens had to be the ais 35, 1.4 and the ais 35 f2.

5. NickCyprus

NickCyprus Super Moderator Subscribing Member

Oct 11, 2012
    Cyprus
    Nick
    Kevin! So nice to see you back :)

I don't (didn't) have that lens but from what I understand most of the Minolta "MC" lenses weren't sharp wide open. Something about the coatings used back then - they had that special "dreamy"/soft look. Personally I like that look - I've always dreamed of owning an MC 58 1.2 back in my adapted lens times...

I did have the later MD 2.8 version and it was very good wide open at f/2.8.

Quick-Review: Minolta MC Rokkor 35mm 1:1.8 - phillipreeve.net

• Agree Agree x 1
  6. dixeyk

Jun 18, 2012
    Bellingham . WA
    Kevin