1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Minolta 3600HS(D) flash question

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by Kirkp, Apr 7, 2015.

1. Kirkp

Kirkp TalkEmount Regular

Nov 2, 2014
    I have a Sony NEX-6 camera and HVL-F32M flash. I'm considering acquiring a Minolta 3600HS(D) flash for about $85 shipped (from a reputable source with a 30-day return policy). I plan to use the Sony flash on the camera and the Minolta flash as a TTL wireless remote. I'm a frugal amateur, but I hope with these flashes and an umbrella reflector I'll have better lighting options for portraits, still life, and macro.
    Does this seem like a reasonable plan? Am I correct that these two flashes and the camera are compatible if used this way?

2. michelb

michelb TalkEmount Regular

Oct 27, 2013
    Greater Montreal area in Quebec, Canada
    Michel Brien
    As long as you will only use TTL, you will be OK with these. The F36AM (or Minolta 3600HSD) have no provision to operate in Manual mode in WL. This set-up will definitely prove very enjoyable to use without breaking the bank since the F36/3600 can zoom manually and tilt up for bounce.

Just make sure you are getting the clip-on wide angle diffuser (for 17mm coverage in FF, about 11mm in APS-C on your A6000) and the mini-stand (this will help mount on light stands without buying extra accessories for use in WL )

If unfamiliar, download the instructions from either Sony or other sources ( Sony HVL-F36AM is the exact same flash as the Minolta 3600HS(D)

Last edited: Apr 7, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  3. xXx1

xXx1 TalkEmount All-Pro

Jan 15, 2013
    I think that manual flashes are better option for off camera work. I have the 3600 HSD and it is pretty good option if you want to use TTL for on camera work.

4. Kirkp

Kirkp TalkEmount Regular

Nov 2, 2014