1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Maybe I just need to clean them?

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by chalkdust, Jan 12, 2016.

1. chalkdust

chalkdust TalkEmount Veteran

Sep 25, 2015
    Bert Cheney
    Some people are tone deaf. Others are color blind. Most of us do not have the discriminating sensitivity to be piano tuners or master blenders of whisky (or whiskey, either).

Myself, I am not good at seeing the fine flaws in photographic images. Other members here sometimes point out some color fringing or poor color balance or distortion and I look and do not see it easily. I often can see it after studying the image very very very carefully, but it is seldom anything that bothers me at all.

In hopes that I am not utterly inept, I have decided to blame my eyeglasses. My prescription eyeglasses have significant barrel distortion and chromatic aberrations increasing significantly as I look toward their outer edges. Only if I look directly through the very optical center of them are they pretty good. I have been wearing these things for about 50 years. Consequently, I think, my brain has learned to compensate for distortion and color fringing and even poor resolution toward the edges of anything I see.

Do you think my blame is reasonable? Or is it likely that I am just photo-flaw-blind?

Do others of you have similar difficulty?

Last edited: Jan 12, 2016
  2. bdbits

bdbits TalkEmount Veteran

Sep 10, 2015
    Bob