Manual zoom for travel and landscapes?

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by tommie, Sep 29, 2013.

1. tommie

tommie TalkEmount Rookie

Mar 7, 2013
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Good afternoon! I'm a beginner in photography (i've shot with my NEX 6 since january) and i think that i'm looking for a good MF zoom lens.

My current lenses
    Sigma 19+30mm
    Sony E 16-50PZ
    Konica Hexar 28mm 3.5
    Konica Hexanon AR 1.7 50mm
    Chinon 1.7 50mm
    Pentacon 1.8 50mm
    Chinon 2.8 135mm

The lens that always seem to fit my bill quite ok is the Sigma 30. The 50's are fun lenses and always seem to give better contrast and colors but the they are sort of hit-and-miss. When they shine they really shines in a way that the Sigmas just doesn't seem to compete with.

I say that the Sigma 30 is "quite ok" since when mounted the Sigma 30 often falls short either on the long end or the short end. I could choose to switch to the 19mm but that lens always seem to come out a bit soft or have a harder time to hit focus (back/front focus).

To "zoom with your feet" sounds great but ie when standing on a cliff it can be quite the feat to go over it and thus there are many situations where i find that zooming with ones feet just isn't practical or feasable.

The main problem i got with both the Sigma 19 and the 16-50PZ is sharpness. All my 50's except the Pentacon is way sharper then the 16-50PZ or the 19mm. The 16-50 would be a great focal span if it just wasn't so soft compared to something really sharp like the Sigma 30. When travelling it isn't practical to take a chance and use lenses that far to often results in images that are a tad too soft. Also switching lenses isn't practical in all situations (like when on a beach). When i say sharpness i mean sharpness at all apertures.

So i've started looking for a MF zoom that is both sharp and has a useable focal length for landscape and travel photography. I've read the thread at mflenses but it didn't provide a great answer.