m43 or Sony E or Sony FE - cost vs quality vs weight vs use = convenience? (my particular use case)

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by josema, May 1, 2016.

1. josema

josema TalkEmount Regular

Mar 31, 2013
    Spain
    Jose M. Alonso
    Hi all,

Here's a tricky one. I badly need your help to figure this one out.

I've been shooting a Nex6 for more than 3 years. I have two main uses for it: landscapes (my real hobby) and family outings/events (of all shorts, including quite some family dinners, celebrations and the like, indoors).

I got the SEL1018 for the former and the Zeiss Touit 32 1.8 for the latter (and have tried quite some other combinations, too; and I need more reach than a 32mm quite often). I also occasionally use the SELP1650 that came as kit lens when I just want to go out with a near compact camera.

I've been pondering about a combination that would allow me to stay with: one body, one standard zoom and one ultra wide angle.

The standard and UWA zooms for APS-C E-mount are f4 hence not the best for indoors low light situations (not to mention the SEL1018 at f4 delivers awful super soft corners). I have also read the numerous stories about the sample variation of the SEL1670z hence not too convinced about getting one (and it would have to be used hence not possible to try and return if a bad copy)

I've had a look at m43. I've just tried an Olympus OM-D EM-10 Mark II with Panasonic 12-35 f2.8 and the Olympus 7-14 f2.8 Pro, both excellent lenses, and the camera has numerous bells and whistles, including the nice 5-axis stabilization (and stuff such as live composite) Sony is not offering in APS-C. Neat.
    Experience has been pretty good but comes at a cost with 7-14 alone at some €1,000.
    The camera grip is not any good and one needs an added grip to handle camera + those lenses properly. Camera + UWA + grip (+battery +card) total weight = 1Kg.
    Quite a bit compared to my Nex6 + SEL1018 at right below 500gr!