Looking for macro lens

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by martha, Nov 16, 2013.

1. martha

martha TalkEmount Rookie

Jan 12, 2013
    Tennessee
    I am fairly new to photography and own an NEX7 with a couple of SEL lenses. I am looking for a macro lens, but am no sure I want to purchase the SEL30M35, as I have read a few reviews that make me think there are better ones out there, and possibly less expensive. Could anyone give me some advice on purchasing a decent macro lens for less than $250?

2. f/otographer

f/otographer TalkEmount Regular

Aug 20, 2013
    The great thing about macro lenses is that you dont really need auto focus. Thats why I assume you are posting this in adapted lenses. There are literally tons of great old manual focus macro lenses available which can be easily used on your NEX 7 with a cheap adapter.

A few macro lenses that I have had direct hands on experience with include the following...

Yashica ML Macro 55/4
    Minolta MD Macro Rokkor X 50/3.5
    Canon FD 50/3.5 macro

If you take a look at my flickr macro folder below you can see many examples from these lenses to see what they are capable of on the NEX 7. Also you will see many other lenses I have used that aren't necessarily macro specific lenses but can be made to shoot macro using either extension tubes or a series of Close Up lenses that attach to the front of other lenses like filters. The benefit of a traditional macro lens is that it is usually corrected for field curvature at high magnifications. But there is nothing to stop you from shooting macro with any old lens.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/8539414@N07/sets/72157626866276690/

Plenty of other companies made great macro lenses, like Nikon, Pentax, Olympus. Many third party makers cranked out great lenses like Tamron, Kiron and others. There are also the legendary Zeiss Makro Planars in C/Y mount that are stunning.