1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Looking for a Sony 35mm flat field lens

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by Jerry Pruce, Apr 30, 2015.

1. Jerry Pruce

Jerry Pruce New to TalkEmount

Apr 28, 2015
    Jerry Pruce
    I purchased a A6000 and the kit lenses a few months ago before a trip to Kauai. I have a Nikon D7100 with the 18-140 kit, Tokina 12-24 and the nikon 60mm. The 7100 is a really nice camera but got tired of lugging it around and being conspicuous. While on Kauai I ended up using the A6000 about 90% of the time. I really love the camera. So much so, I’ve decided to sell my Nikon gear and get some really good lenses for the A6000. I’m an artist doing mostly 2-dimensional work…..drawings and paintings. Some of the paintings are very large. I bought the 60mm Nikkor because it is a flat field lenses and very sharp. The problem I have with it is, it’s 85mm lens on the D7100. With some of my larger work, I can’t get back far enough in my studio to get it all in the frame and I don’t want to stitch. At 50mm, no problem. Also i want to use the lens for other types of photography besides taking pictures of my artwork.

The lenses I’m considering are:

Zeiss 32mm Touit

Sony 35mm

Zeiss 16-35mm FE

Sony/Zeiss 35 1.4 Distagon FE

Sony/Zeiss 35 2.8 FE

Which on of these lenses would you recommend for photographing my art work? Which one would render the flattest field? Most of my other photography is either normal to wide. That is why I put the 16-35 on the list. For now I’ll keep the 16-50 kit lenses for general walk around stuff. I love it’s compact size. I’m prepared to spend some money for the right lens (within reason).

Your thoughts an recommendations would be greatly appreciated…….

jerry

2. Jefenator

Jefenator TalkEmount Top Veteran

Nov 23, 2012
    Oregon, USA
    Jeff
    Sony has a 30mm macro that might be well worth a look for your art reproduction needs.