Like a sheep led to the slaughter - Anxiety caught on me

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by NickCyprus, Jul 28, 2016.

1. NickCyprus

NickCyprus Super Moderator

Oct 11, 2012
    Cyprus
    Nick
    On Saturday I will be attempting my first wedding as a second (actually third) shooter and since this is my first time, I have so much anxiety!

A good friend of mine who is a pro wedding photographer is giving me the opportunity to attend and shoot and if he likes the results, he'll hire me to assist. He've seen my work and I feel he has confidence in me. He's been very supportive at the 2 meetings we had before the wedding to arrange the details/timetable etc.

1st reason of anxiety:
    Gear wise, I'll have to pair my A7 with my only native AF lenses, the 28-70 and 70-200, cause unfortunately my big collection of mf Minolta lenses won't work here :( The only lenses I might end up using is the 35-70 macro for some close up shots of the rings/shoes etc and I might take the 50 1.4 although I don't think I'll use it. So the first reason of my anxiety is due to lack of gear. I also don't have a flash yet.

I'll also take all of my 5 batteries and my wifes nex-6 which I think it'll be enough...

• Like Like x 3
  2. NickCyprus

Oct 11, 2012
    Cyprus
    Nick
    2nd reason of my anxiety:
    Lack of experience.
    I honestly don't know what I'll face. The conditions (light, ceremony sequence, hall, church etc) are totally unknown to me and I'm afraid that when the action happens I'll freeze by not knowing what to do and catch the action...
    I believe I have the technical knowledge and skills to pull it off but lack experience.

Which brings me to my 3rd reason:
    Camera settings and A7's performance for weddings...