Lens Recommendation Request

Donielle

New to TalkEmount
I just bought the a600 and am looking for a better lens for portraits in particular, but as in general. I am underwhelmed by the 3.5-5.6 lens that came with the camera. I have a wide angle prime lens for my Nikon that was great for portraits, but the fixed nature of the lens is obviously limiting. I’m not a professional, so I’m really looking for one lens that could serve relatively well for low light, portrait and for everything else. I’m open to spending about $1,000 so long as it can mostly serve as my all around lens. I also love how small and light the Sony is compared to my Nikon, so would like to keep the bulk down if possible. Suggestions would be appreciated!

Antonio Correia

TalkEmount Regular
Donielle, even being a new comer to Sony cameras I used my wife's Sony 85mm f/1.8 with her A6500 and I have no doubt that the lens is superb. Just look at the photograph bellow
Myself, I am moving to Sony...

Subscribe to see EXIF info for this image (if available)

somnambulist_squirrel

TalkEmount Veteran
I just bought the a600 and am looking for a better lens for portraits in particular, but as in general. I am underwhelmed by the 3.5-5.6 lens that came with the camera. I have a wide angle prime lens for my Nikon that was great for portraits, but the fixed nature of the lens is obviously limiting. I’m not a professional, so I’m really looking for one lens that could serve relatively well for low light, portrait and for everything else. I’m open to spending about $1,000 so long as it can mostly serve as my all around lens. I also love how small and light the Sony is compared to my Nikon, so would like to keep the bulk down if possible. Suggestions would be appreciated!