1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Lens or Camera

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Deadbear77, Jun 24, 2013.

1. Deadbear77

Deadbear77 TalkEmount Hall of Famer

Sep 14, 2012
    Northeast Ohio
    Kevin
    Zeiss 32mm or Nikon 5200 with 18/55 and 55/200 lens.

This is my thought. Both are around 900.00 usd. Which is the better choice?

A lens to further my collection or a whole new system to further my low light shooting. I have never used a dslr before and wanted to see what the differences in IQ are. If they are not much I will probably go with the zeiss

Sent from my iPhone using TalkNEX mobile app

2. Jaf-Photo

Jaf-Photo TalkEmount Veteran

Mar 25, 2013
    Oh, the Nikon. Easy. That is a superb camera and it is really nice to have more than one system. Especially as rumour has it that you are not exactly short on lenses...

Although, if I could give one suggestion... if you go the DSLR route, really consider going full frame straight away. You might get there at the end of the upgrade cycle anyway, and it will be cheaper to jump straight to "Go".

One more suggestion, consider a Sony Alfa system, then you can share some lenses with the NEX ... a lot of nice AF Minoltas for instance...

There are always differences in IQ between systems, the question is which one you prefer. Also handling and performance is a big issue. (Sometimes you need the DSLR to look the part too, even if that is silly talk.)

3. Frank Teurlings

Frank Teurlings TalkEmount Regular

Dec 10, 2012
    Netherlands
    If the weight is not an issue, the nikon.

4. Bimjo

Bimjo Super Moderator

Oct 28, 2011
    Washington State
    Jim
    Good cameras are fleeting, good glass is forever. Just sayin'! ;)

5. jai

jai TalkEmount Top Veteran

Feb 4, 2013
    I agree, i would spend it on glass? Just for the longevity?

Of course you could spend half that and get the Sony 35mm f1.8, I have been eyeing that up for a while

6. ChangshaNotes