1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Lens hood as reverse coupler ?!

Discussion in 'Sony Alpha E-Mount Lenses' started by Jacob Bijo, Jan 2, 2016.

1. Jacob Bijo

Jacob Bijo New to TalkEmount

Jan 2, 2016
    Muscat
    Hi, Happy New Year wishes to all .
    A6000 newbie here (gifted myself on the new year eve, just 2 days on the counter)

I believe, many of us haven't tried this yet :hmmm:

I was trying to improvise to stack my 50mm and 55-210mm with the help of the lens hood itself ....... (since, what I found in my UPS package was a Bower T-4/3 adapter, instead of my online purchase of the 49mm coupler !! :shakehead:)

Though I was able to stack the lenses together (please see attached pics - shot with my SX40 bridge), the resulted macro image was not at all good in the first few tries, as expected :crying:.

So, is this really worth trying again, or am I going to damage the hood or the lenses? Has anyone tried this lens stack with a real coupler? Could there be any difference in the gap between the lenses when someone stack these lenses with a coupler OR a hood as shown here? Does an actual coupler also produce such shabby macros ?

Hope this is worth a fruitful discussion in this forum ... appreciate all worthy inputs. IMG_9947.JPG IMG_9948.JPG IMG_9949.JPG

2. Nexnut

Nexnut TalkEmount Top Veteran

What do you want to achieve that way? A macro setup? If that's the case I'd grab one of the manual standard macro solutions instead - Nikon, Olympus, Tamron, ... depending on what you're after. Or get the 30mm Sony macro, but that might be a bit on the wide side.

• Useful Useful x 1
  3. Jacob Bijo

Jan 2, 2016
    Muscat
    Thanks Nexnut, yes macro is the aim. But why, isn't lens stacking a normal practice ? by coupling 50mm to 55-210mm - a magnification of 4.2 is achievable (at least in theory). If this setup works, the next lens I am eyeing is the 16mm to replace the 50mm in the stack.

4. WNG

WNG TalkEmount All-Pro

Aug 12, 2014